Wedding Cakes & Desserts

Hello everybody!

I’m back again with another wedding post for you all! There are so many different aspects to think about when planning a wedding that I’ll probably end up doing one or two wedding posts per month until my own wedding day 🙂

Today I wanted to focus on ideas for your wedding cake as well as dessert alternatives. I have an interesting dilemma because I can’t eat gluten or dairy. So I’m left wondering if I should make a normal full-sized wedding cake knowing that I won’t be able to eat any of it or if I should choose a different option. I think what we might do is create a small gluten-free and dairy-free cake that my fiance and I can use for the cake-cutting ceremony, but make individual desserts for everybody else. There are many different options to choose from: cupcakes, parfaits, etc. I’m not completely sure which option we’re going to choose yet. Hopefully this post will help you (and me) narrow down the options a little bit and get a better idea of what your personal preference is.

The Cakes

Bird Cake

I think this one is pretty because it has a little bit of a more traditional look, but with a semi-quirky twist to it. Plus the colors just go so well together!

Lavender Grape Cake

I honestly think that this cake might be my favorite. I just love these colors sooooo much! You could line either a small cake or a full-sized cake with lavender and make it look super pretty.

Woody Floral Cake

Oh wow, this cake is so gorgeous! There’s definitely a very woodland-y theme going on here and it’s amazing. It’s a little too extravagant for my personal style, but this cake is definitely photo-worthy.

Berry Cake

Some may think that these types of cakes are ugly, but I actually think they’re really cute. I love it when cakes are dressed up with berries rather than frosting, plus it’s a lot healthier (and yummier, imo).

The Alternatives

Berry Tarts

Aren’t these little guys so cute! They’re perfect if you want to go for individual desserts. I think these ones have gluten in them but I’m sure you can probably find a gluten-free recipe.

Pies

I don’t think I’ve ever seen pies look so pretty. These are absolutely adorable and look so good! It would be super cute to put a bunch of different pies on the dessert table.

Berry Topped

These just look yummy to me. You could do some sort of parfait or even pudding. I think chia puddings can be really good and they’d make a nice dessert!

Crepes

Believe it or not, this “cake” is actually made out of crepes. What a neat idea! I think this is so cute and it would still be super yummy!

The Cake Toppers

Love Birds Cake Toppers

These cake toppers are slightly more traditional, but still super cute!

Elephant Cake Toppers

These cake toppers are a little bit more eclectic and somewhat bulky, but who doesn’t love elephants??

Owl Cake Toppers

I love these cake toppers. They are just so adorable and perfect for a winter wedding!

Deer Cake Toppers

I almost think these are my favorite cake toppers. They’re small, they add a touch of gold to your cake, and there’s both a buck and a doe; how cute!

Feeling a little better about your wedding cake and/or desserts? If you happen to have guests that have certain dietary requirements (like me), you could even put little cards in front of your desserts to let them know which ones are ok for them to eat. A good idea is to ask them on the RSVP card if there’s anything they can’t eat and then you can plan for it!

I hope you guys enjoyed today’s post. It was fun and super helpful for me to write. Talk to you all soon!

~Heather

Leave a comment